Why I Blog

January 3, 2016

2015 was not a great blogging year for me. At the end of December I got a really cool report from WordPress showing my blog stats. It was really cool until I looked at it realized I posted a total of two times. Two times in 365 days – wow! That’s nothing to brag about. (On the bright side, I only posted one time in 2014 so technically I posted twice as much in 2015)

My goal for 2016 is to blog more. However, I want to be more specific in this goal so I am challenging myself to post at least once a week. I’d love to post three or four times a week, but considering I didn’t even post three or four times in an entire year I thought I’d try to be realistic.

I’m starting with asking myself the question of why I blog. Why did I start blogging in the first place? I thought back to when I started my blog. I had been posting things on Facebook about my kids. I’d post funny things they said or did or share my struggles (and humor) of motherhood. I liked sharing with others and I enjoyed hearing how the stories often helped other parents or made people laugh.  It also was very therapeutic to write about motherhood when I was stressed and up to my eyeballs in laundry and dishes. My mom encouraged me to start a blog to share these stories.  I checked into blogging and was excited because I could post more detailed stories (no word count limit) and add photos and other cool widgets.

So I think I have determined that my original purpose for blogging was to relieve stress in my own life as well as to give my readers some humor and joy in their stressful day.  Is that still the purpose of my blog? I think so, but it’s different now that my kids are older.

When I started blogging Drew was 13, Caleb was 9 and Emma and Ethan (the twins) were 7.  In fact my “Meet the Pastor’s Family” page on my blog still reads:

My husband Dwight and I were high school sweethearts and we have been happily married for 17 years.  We have a 9 year old son, Caleb, who has Autism and is non-verbal (he also has a fascination with flushing toys and other un-flushable objects down the toilet … we now have the plumber on speed dial). Then there are the twins, Emma & Ethan, who are 7 years old. They act like a little old married couple and so we affectionately refer to them as “Fred & Ethel” from I Love Lucy.  Our oldest son, Drew, just turned 13.   Wow, I am a mother of a teenager  ~ That makes me feel old !  I sometimes feel like I’m running in circles trying to balance a full time job, motherhood, and all the church activities and responsibilities that come with being a pastor’s wife.  Well, now you know a little about my family and my life … I hope you enjoy reading about the adventures of our not-so-perfect pastor’s family.

So I guess one of my first tasks of 2016 is to update this page since the twins are about to be teenagers and Drew will be graduating from High School in June!

New Year’s Resolution #1 : Blogging once a week in 2016

What is your New Year’s Resolution? Feel free to share in the comments below.

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions

One Response to “Why I Blog”

  1. lexesfitness Says:

    That’s my resolution as well!


Leave a Reply

