Grandparents Rock!

March 5, 2011

Yesterday was Grandparents Day at school and Emma and Ethan both put on special programs in their classrooms for their Grandparents to come and watch.  Each class sang songs, put on plays and even did power point presentations with information they had learned from interviewing their Grandparents. 

Emma made a book of poems about her Grandparents. 

This one was my favorite :

Grandparents
My Grandparents are nice.
And some of them like rice.
My grandparents are excited,
and would be delighted.
My Grandpa’s cat
lays on a mat
                ~ By Emma
 

Ethan had the lead role in the play put on by his class … He was the Gingerbread Man and he ran away from all the others who were trying to eat him up and said

“Run, run, run as fast as you can …. You can’t catch me, I’m the Gingerbread Man.” 

His Grandma tried to take some pictures of him in his starring role, but he was too fast (as a Gingerbread Man should be!) 

I think that it is great that the school dedicates a special day for the Grandparents to be recognized and that they invite them to come to the school so they can meet their grandchildren’s friends and teachers.  

The kids all went to spend the night with their Grandparents last night so their parents got a much needed break and even went out to eat at a restaurant “with cups that clink” (this is a term I stole from my mom … it’s a restaurant with “real” cups and dishes and no golden arches).  We were celebrating Valentine’s Day  – finally!  Hey, better late than never, right ?

Anyways, I’d just like to say that I think grandparents are pretty awesome. I really enjoyed going to my Grandparents house when I was a child and now that I am a parent I don’t  know how I would have ever made it though those early years with the kids if I hadn’t had the help of my parents and my in-laws. 

So if the Grandparents are out there reading this I’d like to say a HUGE “Thank You” and also let you know that you ROCK!

8 Responses to “Grandparents Rock!”


  1. Aw! thank you so much for the praise for Grandparents. I am one of those but a remote one I am sorry to say. I only see my grandchildren once, maybe twice a year as I live in Bulgaria and they are in UK.

    But I am Happy that there is a Grandparents Day and I applaud the school for thinking of doing that

  2. Mo Says:

    That is so sweet! I wish our school would do something like that. Though it might be sad for kids who don’t have any…

    Also, LOL at “cups that clink”!


    • Yeah – I thought of that too … I’m not sure what they did for the kids that didn’t have living grandparents or their grandparents lived too far away to come. Hopefully they let them invite another family member (aunt, uncle, parent) or something like that so they could have a special guest too.


  3. What a great idea. A “grandparents day.” Love it. Sounds like your kids and their grandparents are both very lucky. And I love your daughter’s poem! I remember the first poem I ever wrote:

    Bears are cuddly and cute.
    Some can play the flute.
    Some are hairy and some are scary.
    Bears.

    Your daughter has me beat by a mile! My own kids are still too young to write poetry, but when they grow, I think a poem about the grandparents is going to be a lasting treasure.

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Sandi Ormsby Says:

    Okay, I just put this on the wrong page! (your about page) Please forgive the “duplicate”:

    Emma’s poem is cute. Another blogger (part of my ahhsome community) has a daughter, Sarah, that did a little poem recently, as well. Woman wielding Words blog. You’ll see Lisa commenting on my blogs frequently. Check her out when you have a chance. She is also a director of plays…and I see your son, Ethan, was the Gingerbread man! How C O O L!

    **Wait! Power Point Presentations? I haven’t even done one of those. (in all my years of administration, I never needed to)

    Grandparents day was not observed by our school district. That’s awesome if they live close enough to attend the event!

    CUPS THAT CLINK, you say…no way! I’d probably end up breaking mine. Celebrating Valentines NOT on Valentines day is the best way to go…no long lines and increased prices on flowers and chocolates.

    Hope you enjoyed your evening! My 40th b-day is coming up and we’re heading to Vegas and my mom, actually, agreed to watch the kids for a couple of days- which is next to impossible to have her agree as she’s always busy. More busy retired than when she was working!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

