Horton Hatches the Egg or The Cat in the Hat?

March 2, 2011

As I was giving Emma her bath last night I asked her if she wanted to wash her hair or not. She thought for a moment said, “Yes, I think I better since tomorrow is a BIG day!”   “It is? What is so special about tomorrow?” I asked.  “It’s Dr. Seuss’s Birthday … don’t you know that?”  Wow – I guess I had forgotten.  Emma went on to explain that they were having a big celebration at school and they could bring their favorite pillow and blanket for the special school wide reading time after lunch. 

After Emma’s bath when she and Ethan were settling down for bed the conversation again shifted to the “Big Day” and their excitement was quite obvious. They were both talking about what Pillow Pet and blanket they would take to school with them and what their favorite Dr. Seuss book was. 

Emma’s favorite is Horton Hatches the Egg. She will loudly recite her favorite line that appears several times in the story, “I meant what I said and I said what I meant,  And an elephant’s faithful, one hundred per cent!”  She also loves it when that crazy bird Mayzie returns to try and get her egg back and the egg hatches and an elephant-bird flies out. 

Ethan’s favorite book is The Cat in the Hat because of Thing One and Thing Two.  For Halloween one year he even wanted to dress up as Thing One and have Emma dress up as Thing Two. Unfortunately,  Emma didn’t really share his excitement because it was the year she had decided to be Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz.  

After they had all their pillows, blankets and books laid out for the next day I tucked them in and kissed them good night.  As I turned out the lights Emma said, “Oh, mom … one more thing.”  “Yes, Emma – what is it?”  “Tomorrow is also Crazy Sock Day so we have to wear crazy socks. Do we have any crazy socks.”   Why do they always wait until 9:00 at night to tell me these things!   “OK Emma – I’ll find some crazy socks for you and Ethan to wear and give them to you in the morning.” 

As I closed their bedroom door I smiled thinking about their excitement and hoping that their Dr.Seuss Birthday Party / Crazy Sock Day would be everything they hoped for. 

I wonder why we don’t have fun days like that at work?  There are many days that I’d like to bring my pillow and blanket to take a little reading and nap break after lunch. Oh, well … at least the kids will have a fun day!

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss !

5 Responses to “Horton Hatches the Egg or The Cat in the Hat?”


  1. lovely story, that certainly makes you smile.
    Why not try wearing crazy socks to work first to see how that goes down…then you bring your pillow!

    Having a lovely day still?

    Keep smiling!


  2. I know…I wonder that myself. Why don’t we have a fun day at work?

  3. jessicaber Says:

    This month is Dr. Suess month in my son’s kindergarten class. You should check out his teacher’s blog http://www.misscloster.blogspot.com it shows them enjoying Dr. Suess Books last week.

  4. Sandi Ormsby Says:

    We didn’t even know it was a special day! They acknowldeged this in Gibson’s 1st grade class and Samantha’s preschool. Gib brought home artwork and my husband knew! How did he know and I was clueless. I felt like I missed out…The Cat in the Hat (original film) was my FAVORITE to watch on rainy school days. I’d get so excited for film festival. The whole “India” turbin and moving his head side-to-side always (and to this day) cracks me up. I even like Mike Meyers’ version.

    If that’s Ethan’s favorite book, it was Gibson’s too, there is a 2nd Cat in the hat that my son prefers,called The Cat in the Hat Comes Back… where they are living in the SNOW. Snow and paint get everywhere and he has friends A-Z to help. (instead of Thing1 and Thing 2)

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com


    • We like The Cat in the Hat Comes Back too! I enjoy reading all the Dr Seuss books to the kids … they are fun and the repetition and word families make it easy for them to start recognizing words and learning to read. I wouldn’t have know it was Dr. Seuss’s birthday if the kids hadn’t told me ! 😉


Leave a Reply

