Loads of Fun?

January 21, 2011

 I wouldn’t say laundry is my least favorite chore (cleaning the bathrooms would win that award), but it is probably the most demanding.  I look around the house and see a mountain of laundry on the couch that needs to be folded and piles of folded clothes that need to be put away.  And don’t forget the clusters of socks, underwear and other miscellaneous clothing items, whose cleanliness is yet to be determined, scattered on the floor throughout the house.  Then if I dare to venture into the laundry room there is the dirty laundry that is semi-sorted into piles of lights, darks, reds and towels.   Could it be I am destined to a life of laundry?  It’s like my own sort of Mission Impossible and I really would rather NOT choose to accept this mission (as if I had a choice).

I read in an organizational book somewhere that if you just do one load of laundry a day you will stay on top of it and it won’t seem overwhelming. Well, I find that I can do 3 or 4 loads of laundry a day and still not conquer Mt. Laundry.   One of my biggest challenges are the socks … oh, yes … the socks. There are socks in a large laundry basket waiting to be paired up with their perfect mate. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find the time nor the desire to sit down and spend an hour or two playing the sock matchmaker.  So they sit in the basket until we need a pair of socks and then I spend 15 minutes digging though the basket looking for two that match (or at least come close).  As I’m digging through the basket I swear I will sit down that evening and match all the socks up so that I won’t have to waste time when we are in a hurry to get out the door. But, alas, another day comes and goes and still the socks remain.

A couple of years ago for Halloween I dressed up as “Laundry”. I figured since that was pretty much my life I might as well.  I cut a hole in the bottom of the laundry basket and added string suspenders that went over my shoulders so it looked like I was in the laundry basket. I then glued an empty bottle of Tide and box of Bounce onto the basket and used clothespins to pin socks all over myself.  It was a fun costume to wear and all the mothers that saw me totally “got it”.  At least I knew I was not alone in my battle with the laundry.  Moms in every city and town are all on the same mission ….the mission to keep our families clothed in clean socks and underwear and unstained shirts and pants.   Loads of Fun ?  No, I wouldn’t say that …. Loads of Laundry …yes, yes, we have plenty of laundry.

4 Responses to “Loads of Fun?”

  1. Mo Says:

    Ugh. You could totally have been describing my house and my laundry room!

    I have a friend who is single mom to a teenage boy. She bought a bunch of athletic socks, all the same size & brand, and they both wear them. She never has to sort or anything. I think she might be onto something…


  2. That’s a great idea.Especially as the boys are getting older and closer to wearing the same size socks. I think she is onto something !

  3. Cristina Says:

    The best are those miscellaneous items strewn across the floor all over the house, usually in corners and under furniture. I generally assume they need to be washed, as I’m sure you do too!


Leave a Reply

