McMarriage

January 20, 2011

Ethan came running into the room one evening and said, “Hey mom, what’s it called when you like someone a lot and dream about being their boyfriend or girlfriend?” I thought for a moment and asked, “Do you mean a ‘crush’?” Ethan replied, “Ha ! Yes!! I’m right …. Emma kept telling me it’s called a ‘mush’ !”  Ethan ran back to the room where he had been playing with Emma to perform one of his favorite duties : announcing that he was RIGHT and she was WRONG.

I listened as Emma fought back by teasing Ethan over a girl at school that he had a mush .., I mean CRUSH on.  “Is she your girlfriend? Are you going to marry her?”  Ethan sighed and said, “I don’t think I’m ready for marriage yet …. It sounds like a lot of work!”  He continued on and said, “But when I do get married if me and my wife are rich we will have maids to do stuff for us. We might even pay them if they do stuff the way we want and do a good job.”  Ethan paused and then asked Emma, “So who’s going to be your husband?”  Emma looked up at him with her big brown eyes and said, “I thought maybe you would.”  Ethan was silent for a moment and then Emma said, “Well, that is unless you don’t want to be my husband.”  Ethan thought about the offer and then replied, “Yeah, well, I guess I could be your husband and then we could go to Mc Donald’s together. That would be a pretty fun life.”

3 Responses to “McMarriage”

  1. mindy Says:

    ha ha! I love kids! Joey told me the other day that sissy was going to be his wife and maybe mommy too! 🙂 I said “well, Joey, why would we marry you?” He says “Cause you marry the ones you love and I love you mommy!” Made my day! 🙂

  2. Mo Says:

    LOL! That is priceless! And I love the post title too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

